ENTERPRISE

Managing groups

  • Last updated: September 9, 2022

  • Read time: 2 Minutes

Groups allow you to map users to their relevant roles. This enables you to assign the permissions for a chosen set of roles to all the users in the group. Users in the group inherit the permissions that are defined in the assigned roles, subject to any restrictions on sites.

Each user can belong to multiple groups. They inherit the roles and permissions from all the groups that they belong to.

You can also use groups to restrict users to certain parts of the site tree.

Creating a new group

To create a new group:

  1. Log in to Burp Suite Enterprise Edition as an administrator.
  2. From the Team menu, select Groups.
  3. Click New group.
  4. Enter a Group name.
  5. In the Roles tab, select the roles that you want to assign to the group.
  6. In the Users tab, select the users that you want to assign to the group.
  7. Click Save.

Editing a group

You can edit a group as follows:

  1. Log in to Burp Suite Enterprise Edition as an administrator.
  2. From the Team menu, select Groups.
  3. From the list, click the group that you want to edit.
  4. Use the Roles and Users tabs to edit the group settings.
  5. When you're finished, click Save.

Restricting access to sites

You can use groups to restrict user access to certain sites. For further information, refer to Restricting access to sites.

Deleting a group

You can only delete custom groups. You can't delete built-in groups. To delete a group:

  1. Log in to Burp Suite Enterprise Edition as an administrator.
  2. From the Team menu, select Groups.
  3. Find the row for the group that you want to delete, and click .
  4. At the prompt, click Delete.

Was this article helpful?