1. Support Center
  2. Documentation
  3. Desktop editions
  4. Options
  5. Misc user options

Misc user options

This tab contains settings for hotkeys, automatic project backup, Proxy interception, REST API, Proxy history logging, location of temporary files, and performance feedback.

Hotkeys

These settings let you configure hotkeys for common actions. Numerous types of actions can be assigned a hotkey, in the following categories:

A number of hotkeys are configured by default. Note that very many more actions are available to have a hotkey assigned, if you use them frequently.

All hotkeys must use the Control key (or the Command key on OSX), and may also use Shift and other available modifiers. Note that on some Windows installations the Ctrl+Alt combination is treated by Windows as equivalent to AltGr, and so may result in typed characters appearing when pressed in text fields.

Automatic project backup

Automatic project backup saves a copy of the Burp project file periodically in the background. The following options are available:

REST API options

The REST API can be used by other tools to integrate with Burp Suite.

Note: The REST API exposes sensitive functionality and data. You should not enable the REST API service on untrusted network interfaces, and you should use separate API keys for each client that you grant access to.

The following options are available:

Once the service is configured, you can browse the API documentation and interact with the API at [Service URL]/[API key].

Proxy interception

This option lets you configure whether Proxy interception should be enabled when Burp is started up. You can choose to always enable interception, always disable interception, or to restore the setting from when Burp was last closed.

Proxy history logging

This option controls whether adding items to Target scope will automatically set the Proxy option to stop sending out-of-scope items to the history or live tasks. Setting Burp to do this is useful to avoid accumulating project data for out-of-scope items.

Temporary files location

These settings let you configure where Burp stores its temporary files.

By default, Burp creates a directory within the temporary file location provided by the platform. You can modify this behavior to use a custom directory - for example, on a different volume, or which is not world-readable.

On Mac OS X, you may find that the default temporary file location is sometimes cleared following system hibernation, causing Burp to lose its temporary files. You can resolve this problem by configuring a custom location for Burp to store its temporary files.

Changes to this setting take effect the next time Burp starts up.

Performance feedback

You can help improve Burp by submitting anonymous feedback about Burp's performance.

Feedback only contains technical information about Burp's internal functioning, and does not identify you in any way. If you do report a bug, you can help us diagnose any problems that your instance of Burp has encountered by including your debug ID.

Logging exceptions to a local directory

In some cases, it may not be possible for us to receive data about your performance issues even if you do enable anonymous feedback. For example, if you have a strict security policy, it might block data from being sent to our support team. In this case, we might ask you to temporarily activate the "Log exceptions to a local directory" option and attempt to replicate the issue.

While this option is active, exceptions are logged to a local file in the specified directory. Therefore, if you can replicate the issue, you can manually send a copy of your local log file to our support team to help them identify the problem. The file name is a combination of the current date and your debug ID, which identifies the session in which the exception was raised. Each instance of Burp generates its own log.

The log entries only contain the time of the exception, a brief description, and a stack trace. The stack trace is fully obfuscated, so no personal data can be read from the file.

Note: If you change the directory where the log should be saved, make sure that the user who is replicating the issue has write access for the specified directory. Otherwise, the file will not be generated.

Update settings

By default, Burp will automatically download any available updates. When a new update has been downloaded, a notification will prompt you to restart Burp in order to install it. You can also click "More information" to see a summary of the most important changes and access the full release notes.

If you close the notification or select "Not now" from the "More information" dialog, the update will be installed the next time you manually restart Burp.

You can choose whether updates are downloaded from the Stable or Early Adopter channel. New features and other improvements to Burp Suite are first released to the Early Adopter channel. Early Adopter versions are released to the Stable channel when any initial problems have been resolved. By default, all installations of Burp will update from the Stable channel. However, you can also manually select which channel you want to use for each installation.

Note: You can still manually download any version of Burp Suite from our website. However, please be aware that if you manually download and install a version that is only available on the Early Adopter channel, your update channel will automatically be switched to Early Adopter.

Choose an update channel

If you revert to an older version of Burp Suite, such as moving from the Early Adopter channel to the Stable channel and downloading an earlier Stable version, project files will not necessarily work with the earlier version. Burp will warn you that your project files are likely to be incompatible with the current installation, and it is possible to damage project files by doing this. We recommend using only new project files when moving to an older version of Burp Suite.

If you prefer, you can disable auto-updates by deselecting the "Enable auto-updates" checkbox. In this case, you will be informed when an update is available but can choose not to download or install it.

Please be aware that, unlike other user options, update settings are applied only to the current installation of Burp. If you use multiple installations, you need to change these settings for each of them. This allows a user to have both a Stable and an Early Adopter version of Burp Suite installed at the same time.

Note: The auto-update feature is not available if you launch Burp from a JAR file.