Last updated: March 17, 2023
Read time: 2 Minutes
The Updates settings enable you to control how often Burp updates.
If you select Enable auto-updates then Burp automatically downloads any available updates. When Burp downloads a new update, it displays a notification to restart Burp in order to install the update. If you close the notification or select Later then the update is installed next time you restart Burp.
The Channel menu enables you to download updates from either the Stable or Early Adopter channel. New features and other improvements to Burp Suite are released to the Early Adopter channel first. Early Adopter versions are then released to the Stable channel once any initial problems have been resolved.
Burp updates from the Stable channel by default.
You can manually download any version of Burp Suite from our website. If you manually download and install a version that is only available on the Early Adopter channel, your update channel automatically switches to Early Adopter.
If you revert to an older version of Burp Suite, for example by moving from the Early Adopter channel to the Stable channel and downloading an earlier Stable version, then any project files that you created in the more recent version may not work with the earlier version. We recommend using new project files when moving to an older version of Burp Suite.
The Updates settings are user settings. However, unlike other user settings, update settings only apply to the current installation of Burp. If you use multiple installations, then you need to configure the update settings for each installation. This enables you to run both a Stable and an Early Adopter version of Burp Suite at the same time.
Auto-updates are not available if you launch Burp from a JAR file.
Was this article helpful?
An error occurred, please try again.